A couple of years ago, I started keeping track of everything we cooked and ate–dinners anyway.  It was mostly a practical matter:  as I tested more and more and more cookbooks for the Globe and NPR, I never got to enjoy even my favorite recipes more than once or twice because I couldn’t remember what they were or where to find them.

So I started keeping records.  And I realized that every month or so, it turned out that there was at least one kind-of-mindblowing recipe worth returning to and telling people about.

As of tomorrow, I will start sharing my favorite 14 or 15 lick-the-pan, sauce-on-your-nose, hoard-the-leftovers recipes from 2012.  I’ll post one every few days, with the story of how we discovered it, what book it came from, and how you can get it, too.

The publishers have kindly consented to let me reprint the recipes here on the blog, with original photos where available.  So tie on your aprons and fire up your Pinterest!  We’ll get underway first thing in the morning.