We tested this cookbook about a month and a half ago.  As is the case whenever I test a slow cooker book, this led to a very weird morning routine starting at 5 am:  Pack husband’s lunch for school, pack kids’ lunch for school, make dinner, make kids’ breakfast, make my breakfast.  But I loved the convenience of having dinner all set when the evening rush arrived.

I had the chance to hear Michele Scicolone at a panel at the cookbook conference in NY shortly after; she spoke compellingly about the need for greater authenticity in the understanding of Italian food.  It was an entertaining presentation, which I bought hook, line, and sinker.  It did, however, make me wonder about her French book, which I’d just tested.  Because while it may be decent cooking, and it may be well put together, I wouldn’t say it’s exactly authentique…

Click here to read the review.