The recipe: Granola with currants, walnuts, and orange zest

The book:  Super Natural Every Day, by Heidi Swanson

The ingredients: Rolled oats, walnuts, unsweetened coconut, dried currants, oranges, maple syrup, butter.

Why I tried it:  Granola with yogurt is my hands-down favorite breakfast, but it’s easy to get bored if you’re always using the same fruit and nut combination.  I thought currants and walnuts sounded like an interesting departure.

Why I love it:  As it turned out, the currants and walnuts were only a small part of what makes this granola so extraordinary.  Instead of the usual vegetable oil, it’s got butter, which you melt with just enough maple syrup to sweeten without overwhelming the mix.     And then there’s the orange zest, which brightens the rather dark taste of the fruit and nuts, and the large-flake coconut, which was my #1 ingredient discovery of 2011.  Mmmmm!!