The recipe: Pomegranate-cinnamon tabbouleh

The book: The Splendid Table’s How To Eat Weekends

The ingredients: bulgur, ground cinnamon, pomegranate molasses, Belgian endive or radicchio,  fennel, parsley, mint, scallions, pistachio nuts, pomegranates

Why I tried it: We’re omnivores here, but I try to make our dinners meat-free at least 2 or 3 times a week.  I don’t like always falling back on pasta, so I’m always on the lookout for interesting new ways to prepare whole grains.

Why I love it: This recipe takes ordinary bulgur and showers it with bright flavors and lots of textures–it’s like a mosh pit of  juicy, explosive, crisp, bitter, sour, crunchy, bracing, and mellow.  It’s crazy, but it works, and unlike most tabbouleh, it’s a party to look at as well.

Caveat: My kids only like it a little.  The 5-year-old picks out the pomegranate seeds and pistachios and just eats those.  The 10-year-old eats all the components, but in small quantities.