Most of the time I have a pretty good sense of when a book will work out.  When Balaboosta came out this fall, I had a magnificent hunch.  “Isn’t this beautiful!” I cooed.  “Aren’t these stories great! and some of my favorite ingredients!”

Then came the testing.   After a week, my confidence in my ability to pre-judge a cookbook was seriously rattled – temporarily, but still.  Ah, well. Nobody’s perfect.

Click here to read today’s review of ‘Balaboosta’ in the Boston Globe.   Hit the paywall?  Click here for the PDF version

On  CookShelf, the cookbook-rating app , you’ll find more analysis of this book, write-ups of 250+  of the latest cookbooks, and regular cookbook news.  It’s the only up-to-the-minute cookbook app anywhere –  just 99¢ this week only!

Know someone who loves cookbooks?  CookShelf makes the perfect virtual stocking stuffer! Just gift it to your favorite cook from your  iPhone/iPad or Android device and start inviting yourself over for supper.

