5

When one of my favorite NPR producers emailed me last month to say that, due to budget constraints, NPR would not be running the cookbook roundup this summer, I was terribly sad.  The summer cookbook roundup has been a happy tradition here – a parade of festive, partying, grilling, beach-loving books that are publishers’  last hurrah before the slow months of July and August.  Now, it seemed, there would be no cocktails and grilled clams and corn fritters and lobster rolls.  (And NPR wouldn’t be the only one facing budget constraints.)

But then I thought, what’s to stop summer cookbook roundup from happening anyway?  I’ve got the cookbooks.  I’ve got a blog.  I’ve got a cookbook-rating app.  And am I, or am I not, a full-time cookbook reviewer?  So I decided I’d run it right here, on the Wednesday before Memorial Day – that’s May 22nd.  Save the date!  And for those who have the CookShelf app, you’ll be able to see my picks first of all, when the app refreshes late Tuesday night.

So stay tuned, folks.  Cookbook roundup may be nothing but a jumble of Alpha-Bits right now.  But in five short days, you’ll have the summer’s best cookbook picks on your screen and at your fingertips.

Yes, I need the CookShelf app for iPhone/iPad!

Yes, I need the CookShelf app for Android!

