Eggs?  you’re saying.  You picked eggs for one of your best recipes of the year?  Sure did.  This recipe revolutionized my breakfast routine.  No more boring-scrambled-eggs-you-eat-because-you-need-the-protein!  I made it 6 days out of 7 all through tomato season.

The book:  The Fresh Egg, by Jennifer Trainer Thompson (Storey, $14.95 – here’s my complete review)

The recipe:  Scrambled Eggs, Indian-Style

Why I tried it: My Aunty Sen makes a delicious scrambled egg with tomato.  “It looks kind of terrible,” she told me, “but it tastes really good.”  I loved her tomato egg, but it was a little scary-looking, and I ended up not making it at home.  So when I saw this egg recipe with tomato, I thought it was a good chance to get over my own qualms about tomato eggs.  Also, it had onion.  Who can be afraid of a recipe that starts with onion?

Why I loved it:  You know how when you eat scrambled eggs, they’re great for the first bite, OK for the second, and after that you’re just eating them because you have to?  Yeah, that’s what this recipe isn’t like.  It’s full of interesting, complementary flavors that keep bouncing off each other from the first bite to the last.  In fact, the whole experience is over all too soon.  I made this recipe first in the spring, and I didn’t think it could get better.  Then I tried it with the fresh tomatoes in August.  Then I tried it with our chickens’ first eggs, in October.  Oh my!!!

Estimated preparation time: < 15 minutes*.
*once you’re familiar with the recipe.  Less if you keep ginger-garlic paste around (a terrific staple that keeps forever in the fridge, by the way, and available at most Asian markets).  You can use it instead of mincing the garlic and ginger.
=================================================

Scrambled Eggs, Indian-Style
Haven’t got a fresh tomato? That’s OK. Even a mediocre winter tomato turns into a rock star with this treatment. And if you haven’t even got one of those, you can use a scant tablespoon of tomato paste and loosen it up with a little water in the pan as you sweat the aromatics. I just did, and it was great.
Serves 2

4 eggs
2 tablespoons extra-virgin olive oil
1/2 yellow onion, chopped (about 1/4 cup)
1 small tomato, chopped
1 green chile, seeded and slivered (or substitute 1 teaspoon chili powder)
1 tablespoon chopped fresh cilantro
1/4 teaspoon minced garlic
1/4 teaspoon minced fresh ginger
Salt and freshly ground black pepper
1/4 teaspoon toasted cumin seed
Pinch of ground turmeric

1.  Beat the eggs and set aside.

2.  Heat the oil in a medium skillet over medium heat. Add the onion and cook until translucent, 2 or 3 minutes. Add the tomato, chile, cilantro, garlic, and ginger and cook until the tomato is soft (so you can mash it). Season with salt and pepper, the cumin seed, and the turmeric.

3.  Pour in the eggs and scramble until they reach the desired consistency. Serve immediately.

Recipe excerpted from The Fresh Egg Cookbook © by Jennifer Trainer Thompson, used with permission from Storey Publishing.

