Happy Chinese New Year!  The Boston Globe’s food section this week has a number of fun features for our favorite noise-making, confetti-strewn, street-fair holiday.  I was called on at the last minute for a Chinese cookbook review, which I was happy to attempt even though I have bemoaned the recent scarcity of Chinese cookbooks.  We scrambled to find a book and found Ching’s Everyday Easy Chinese, which features British-based Cooking Channel star Ching-He Huang.

Although the book could be more forthcoming in its particulars, for the most part I was happily surprised.  These are easy-to-like, simple-to-prepare dishes that seek to entertain more than educate.  It’s not necessarily a must-have for your overflowing cookbook shelves, but overall I’d consider it a good value.

Read the full review here.

